Honors Program Logo: Owl with MortarboardHONORS PROGRAM

Illinois Valley Community College






IVCC is proud to offer an Honors Program designed for and by our students! Our program offers many benefits: tuition waivers, specialized classes, smaller class sizes, personalized career/education guidance, field trips, distinction on transcripts, and much, much more.


To find about the program, please peruse the links to the left, or contact Director Adam Oldaker by phone at (815) 224-0326, by email at adam_oldaker@ivcc.edu, or by office visit in A-317. You can also visit the Honors Program handbook.

Application Information

The Honors Team is now accepting applications from students who would like to begin the Honors Program in the spring 2017 semester! The deadline to apply is Thursday, January 26. To find out how to apply, please click here.

Honors Program Publication by IVCC President

Special congratulations are due to IVCC President Jerry Corcoran, who recently had an article about our Honors Program published in the peer-reviewed periodical Journal of the National Collegiate Honors Council. You can read his article, which he worked on with Director Adam Oldaker, by clicking on this link.

Honoring Our Own: 21st Century Scholars Society Awards

The Honors Team is happy to announce that some of our students were named to the prestigious 21st Century Scholars Society at IVCC. This is one of our highest recognitions at the college. Here are the winners from our Honors Program:

21st Century Scholars Society Finalist: Trevor Finnan

21st Century Scholars Society Honorable Mentions: Kayte Bernardoni, Ari Ochuba, and Kristen Pinn

Congratulations to Trevor, Kayte, Ari, and Kristen!

Honoring Our Own: Honors Program Awards

The Honors Team is thrilled to recognize second-year members who achieved outstanding recognitions during the 2015-2016 academic year. Here are the winners of our highly competitive Honors Program awards:

Award for Leadership: Trevor Finnan, Brandon Miller, and Kaitlin Raineri

Award for Experiential Learning: Aubrey Molln

Award for Community Involvement: Brittany Blomquist, Trevor Finnan, Brandon Miller, and Kaitlin Raineri

Award for Research: Brittany Blomquist

Congratulations to Trevor, Brandon, Kaitlin, Aubrey, and Brittany for their accomplishments during the 2015-2016 academic year!

Honoring Our Own: William and Dian Taylor STEM Scholarship

Congratulations to Aubrey Molln, who recently received the much-coveted William and Dian Taylor STEM Scholarship. This award enables students to pursue science, technology, engineering, or math at Northern Illinois University (NIU) with $5,000 paid toward tuition. Students who pursue Honors at NIU are eligible to receive funds for all tuition and fees. Best wishes to Aubrey as she pursues an engineering degree at NIU. Make the Taylors and the Honors Team proud!

Honoring Our Own: Steven W. Rigazio Scholarship

Congratulations to Matt Phillips, the 2016 recipient of the Steven W. Rigazio Scholarship. This award provides a full scholarship to one lucky student transferring to Eureka College. Best wishes to Matt as he studies history and secondary education at Eureka. We'll miss you, Matt!